About This Property

Originally built of wood, the property was later sold to Wilhelm Haase who tore down the wooden building and replaced it with a brick edifice constructed by the Allert & Redmond brickmasons of Flatonia. It served as a grocery/ liquor store until 1900 when Haase died. However, it remained a grocery store until 1930 when remodeling began to house the Nehi Bottling Plant, which would change the aesthetics of the original building.

Since 1941, it has been home to a number of businesses, including Fairmont Creamery Company, White’s Auto Store, House of Crafts, Satin & Lace Bridal Shop, and Roslyn’s Unique Boutique. In the mid-1980s, it was turned into a Radio Shack. During the 1990s it housed various businesses, such as the Video Place, End of the Rainbow, Diane Korucek Photography, Blue Moon Emporium, and McCormick’s Gold Works. It currently serves as the location of a financial services agency.

Nearby Businesses

Property Information

Zoning District B - Commercial
Lot Size (acres) 0.0705
Parking Spaces
Electrical Service
Heating Type
Official Total Sq Ft
Total Commercial Units
Total Residential Units
Total Commerical Sq Ft
Total Residential Sq Ft
Year Built c. 1884
Last Remodel Date
Last Sale Date January 7th, 2015
Historic Resources Survey -
Priority
Parcel Number 37501
Subdivision
Legal Description MOORE JOHN H (445) LOT FRC 144-149 BLK 19 .0705 3,073 SFT, COMM - STATE BANK
Located Within
  • La Grange Main Street Program Area/Local Historic District Boundary
  • La Grange National Register Commercial Historic District