About This Property

Listed as a bookstore in early records, the Robison Building has been used as a bakery since 1928. Since then, the building changed owners a few times, but has remained a bakery.

Wanting to serve his country during World War II, Raymond Lukas joined the army. He was honorably discharged due to illness but still wanted to serve his country. Drawing upon his
experience in baking, he was sent to Bastrop, Texas, to bake for the German prisoners.

Meanwhile Lucille Kurio was attending a wedding in the local area. Upon eating a piece of wedding cake, she inquired as to who had made the confection and proclaimed that she would like to marry the man. Raymond happened to be standing right behind her and four months later they became engaged.  

Raymond Lukas and his soon-to-be bride, Lucille Kurio opened Lukas Bakery in November 1947. In the early stages of the business, they were the only two employees. In 1978, Raymond passed away, but his family has been operating the business ever since. The bakery currently has six employees who continue to bake everything from scratch just like Raymond taught them.

Nearby Businesses

Property Information

Zoning District B - Commercial
Lot Size (acres) 0.0981
Parking Spaces
Electrical Service
Heating Type
Official Total Sq Ft
Total Commercial Units
Total Residential Units
Total Commerical Sq Ft
Total Residential Sq Ft
Year Built c. 1905
Last Remodel Date
Last Sale Date July 10th, 2009
Historic Resources Survey -
Priority
Parcel Number 38433
Subdivision
Legal Description MOORE JOHN H (445) LOT FRC 175-198 BLK 21 .0981 4,275 SFT, COMM - LUKAS BAKERY
Located Within
  • La Grange Main Street Program Area/Local Historic District Boundary
  • La Grange National Register Commercial Historic District